State Legislative Powers

In 1850, half a century before Federation, Westminster Parliament passed the Australian Colonies Government Act, 1 first granting the right of legislative power to each of the six Australian colonies. This is the basis for state legislative powers, and each of it’s own constitutions. This was never completely surrendered to the Commonwealth Parliament at Federation, the legislative powers of the federal body were actually limited to a mere 39 different matters outlined in section 51 of the federal constitution, 2 … Continue reading State Legislative Powers
To access this post, you must purchase VIP Annual Membership, 1 Month Membership, 6 Month Membership or 3 Month Membership.